Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

Put yourself in the reader’s shoes when creating articles with ChatGPT

Tarek Amr
3 min readJul 31, 2023

Dismissing new tools is a mistake.

You cannot avoid ChatGPT nowadays. It has been claimed that an average chess player paired with an average computer can beat the most sophisticated supercomputer. You aren’t average, and ChatGPT isn’t either, so it’s your chance to dethrone Stephen King.

But ChatGPT keeps giving me cheesy articles whenever I ask it to write one!

Then, the following quote by Nicolas Cole came to mind:

“Remember, the reader is the main character here. And in order to be an effective writer, you must be in service to them” — Nicolas Cole

It made me think: What if I stopped asking ChatGPT to write me an article, and ask it something else instead …

Check the first prompt below. I followed the typical approach asking the Large Language Model to write me a tutorial:

Prompt I: I want to tutorial an article about Python dataclasses, help me by writing it in 100 words or less.

Title: Python Dataclasses Tutorial

Learn how to create clean and concise data-oriented classes in Python using dataclasses.

--

--

Tarek Amr

I write about what machines can learn from data, what humans can learn from machines, and what businesses can learn from all three.